Unveiling the Tarot: Understanding the Number of Tarot Cards

What is the Tarot?

The Tarot is a deck of cards with secret meanings tied to the occult. It has been used for centuries as a tool of divination and is still popular today. The entire deck of 78 cards is divided into two parts: the major and minor arcana. The tarot is used to explore spiritual and psychological processes – to understand feelings, thoughts, and issues that may have been hidden or subconsciously.

The Number of Tarot Cards

The tarot consists of 78 cards: 22 major arcana cards and 56 minor arcana cards. The major arcana cards are usually referred to as the “trump cards” and are the most important and powerful cards in the deck. These cards represent the most significant life experiences, essence, and lessons that one must learn. Examples of major arcana cards are: The Fool, The Magician, The Hierophant, The High Priestess, The Empress, and The Tower.

The minor arcana cards, also known as the “lesser arcana” cards, are composed of four suites: wands, pentacles, cups, and swords. Each of these four suits has 14 cards, which are numbered from Ace to 10 and also include four court cards (Page, Knight, Queen, and King). The minor arcana cards are more focused on the daily concerns and matters of everyday life.

Symbols and Meanings of Tarot Cards

Each card featured in a tarot reading holds a powerful meaning that helps to provide insight into your current life situation. The tarot’s imagery is a visual representation of these symbols and meanings, used to provide an interpretation of what you might be feeling or experiencing, based on the cards that are drawn during the reading.

The tarot is a powerful tool for understanding the complexities of our lives. By exploring the cards and delving into their meanings, one can open up a doorway to discovering the hidden messages and meaning within our lives. For those exploring the power of tarot, understanding the number of tarot cards and the symbols and meanings of each card is the first step.
A high detail photograph of:

What are the different types of Tarot Cards?

1. Major Arcana: These are the 22 “trump” cards of tarot featuring archetypal characters and situations. They represent various aspects of life, including spiritual, physical, and situational elements.

2. Minor Arcana: These are the 56 “pip” cards of tarot, grouped into four separate suits that reflect the fundamental elements of life — Cups, Wands, Pentacles, and Swords.

3. Court Cards: These are the 16 “face” cards of tarot representing a person or type of person associated with a particular suit. They represent personalities, occupations, internal qualities, and external influences.

By understanding the number of tarot cards, the symbols they represent, and the various meanings associated with them, you can gain insight into the various aspects of your life as represented by the tarot. This can help to uncover truths, reveal hidden insights, and offer guidance as you seek to find balance and harmony in your life.

What are the Major and Minor Arcana in Tarot Cards?

The Major Arcana of the Tarot are the 22 cards of the deck that represent the major aspects of life: the Fool, the Magician, the High Priestess, the Empress, the Emperor, the Hierophant, the Lovers, the Chariot, Strength, the Hermit, Wheel of Fortune, Justice, the Hanged Man, Death, Temperance, the Devil, the Tower, the Star, the Moon, the Sun, Judgment, and the World.

The Minor Arcana of the Tarot are the 56 cards remaining in the deck that represent the more everyday, mundane aspects of life, broken down into four suits: wands, cups, swords, and pentacles. Each suit is further divided into court cards, which represent the people, places, and things associated with the four suits, and numbered cards that represent events in everyday life.