Unveiling the Mystique: How Many Tarot Cards Are There?


Tarot cards have long been a source of mystique, with people from around the world curious to understand their meaning and symbolism. While most people are only familiar with the classic tarot deck, composed of 78 cards, there are actually a variety of tarot decks with different numbers of cards. In this article, we will be exploring the different types of tarot decks, and how many cards each one contains.

History of Tarot

The tarot has origins in Italy, dating back to the 15th century. It is believed to have been used as a game similar to modern-day bridge or poker, where players would guess which card was coming up next. Tarot cards have also had a long history of being used for divination or prophecy, as an attempt to unlock the mysteries of the future.

The earliest decks were composed of 56 cards referred to as the Minor Arcana, divided into four suits of 14 cards each (similar to a modern day deck of playing cards). The remaining 22 cards were the Major Arcana, which were considered to be more powerful cards and gave insight into the higher spiritual and philosophical realms.

Modern Decks

These days, the most common tarot deck is the classic 78-card tarot deck, which is composed of 56 minor cards and 22 major cards. This deck is divided into two different groups – the Major Arcana, a set of 22 cards that represent the path of spiritual growth, and the Minor Arcana, a set of 56 cards that represent the small everyday matters in one’s life.

However, there have been numerous tarot decks developed over the past century. While many of these still contain the traditional 78 cards, there are also some that have fewer cards. Examples of these include the Thoth Tarot deck, which contains only 64 cards, and the Osho Zen Tarot deck, which has only 49 cards.


As we have seen, there is no definitive answer to the question of how many tarot cards there are. Depending on the deck, there can be anywhere from 49 to 78 cards. Each deck has its own unique symbolism and meaning, and is often used in different forms of divination and readings. No matter how many cards a tarot deck contains, it still holds an important place in the practice of tarot, as it reveals insights and knowledge that can be used to help guide one through life.
A high detail photograph of:

How many tarot card suits are there?

There are four tarot card suits: Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles. Each suit has its own unique symbolism and meaning, and is often associated with a different element—wands with fire, cups with water, swords with air, and pentacles with earth. Collectively, the four suits represent a comprehensive look at the physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual experiences of life.

What are the 4 tarot card suits?

The four tarot card suits are wands, pentacles, swords, and cups.