Unveiling the Cards: Discovering the Tarot Card Meanings with Pictures

History and Origin

The Tarot is a collection of 78 cards, known in the occult studies as a tool for spiritual guidance and divination. Historians trace back its origin to 15th century Northern Italy, where the first documentations of Tarot decks emerged. It has been known to contain symbols and imagery related to divination and mythology.


The main use of the Tarot is to connect with spiritual entities and gain insight into our lives. Each card in the Tarot contains symbolic meanings that are directly relevant to the person seeking advice. By shuffling and selecting the cards, spiritual advisors can delve into the querent’s current situation and provide an outlook on the future events.

Types of Spreads

A Tarot reading is performed by using a ‘spread’; a spread is when an array of cards are laid out, each representing different parts of the querent’s life. Spreads vary in size and structure depending on the situation and can be customized for particular inquiries. Some popular spreads include the Celtic Cross, the Three Fates and the Horseshoe Spread.

Interpreting the Meanings

The meanings of Tarot cards go beyond their pictorial representation; each card has an array of different interpretations that can be used for analysis. Depending on context and its surrounding cards, a single card can have different meanings. For this reason, spiritual advisors spend years studying the Tarot and its meanings in order to interpret them in the most accurate and meaningful way.

Tools to Help Understand

Besides studying and memorizing the Tarot card meanings, spiritual advisors also use tools such as a Rider-Waite and an Arcus Arcanum deck to help interpret the cards. By comparing different versions of the Tarot, spiritual advisors can gain insight into different aspects of the querent’s life.


The Tarot is a widely-used device used for information gathering and insight into one’s life. With a vast array of cards and spreads, spiritual advisors can offer the querent a look into what the future holds. With continued study, anyone can learn to interpret the cards, and gain insight into the many meanings of the Tarot.
A high detail photograph of:

What are the major arcana cards in Tarot?

The major arcana cards in Tarot are numbered 0-21 and represent powerful symbols and ideas related to life’s great questions. They are also sometimes called the trumps or the fool’s journey. The major arcana cards are:

0. The Fool

1. The Magician

2. The High Priestess

3. The Empress

4. The Emperor

5. The Hierophant

6. The Lovers

7. The Chariot

8. Strength

9. The Hermit

10. The Wheel of Fortune

11. Justice

12. The Hanged Man

13. Death

14. Temperance

15. The Devil

16. The Tower

17. The Star

18. The Moon

19. The Sun

20. Judgment

21. The World

The cards of the major arcana typically represent big life changes, knowledge, inner truth, and spiritual growth. They can help provide answers to life’s burning questions, offer guidance during difficult times, and bring insight into the future.