Sacred Geometry: Understanding the Symbolism of Shapes


Sacred geometry is defined in many ways, but it basically refers to a set of shapes and symbols used by ancient civilizations to understand the divine nature of existence. Sacred geometry can be found in architecture, artwork, and even religion. Symbolic patterns have been used since the beginning of time to express spiritual connections between people and the universe. From Ancient Egypt to the Aztecs, ancient cultures have used these sacred shapes and forms to represent a deep understanding of the world. In this article we’ll discuss the symbolism of shapes in sacred geometry and how they can be used to evoke spiritual understanding.

What is Sacred Geometry?

Sacred geometry is the study and understanding of abstract patterns which are seen in nature, such as the Golden Ratio. Sacred geometry is believed to represent the hidden harmony and order of the universe, as well as the divine intelligence that is behind everything in existence. It is the symbolic language of the divine and the soul, and brings inner peace and personal growth. By understanding the shapes that are used in sacred geometry, we can gain a better understanding of the spiritual elements of our world.

Symbolic Shapes in Sacred Geometry

There are many different shapes and patterns in sacred geometry that have symbolic meanings. Some of the most common shapes used in sacred geometry include the circle, triangle, square, pentagon, hexagon, and octagon. Each of these shapes has its own unique symbolism and is often used to represent different things in different contexts.

The circle is one of the most powerful symbols in sacred geometry. It is a symbol of unity, wholeness, and infinity. It can also be used to represent the cycles of life and spiritual connection to the divine.

The triangle is another common shape used in sacred geometry and is often used to represent the trinity of body, mind, and spirit. The triangle is also a symbol of strength and protection.

The square is often used to represent stability and order. It is also a symbol of balance, as all sides are equal. The square is often seen in many forms of architecture and can be used to evoke feelings of comfort and safety.

The pentagon is often seen as a symbol of protection and is often used to ward off evil. The hexagon is often seen as a symbol of harmony and peace, while the octagon is a symbol of infinite possibilities and the source of all creation.

Yantras and Mandalas in Sacred Geometry

Yantras and mandalas are two of the most powerful symbols used in sacred geometry. Yantras are designs that can be used as a tool for meditation and spiritual growth. These designs often include shapes such as the triangle, square, and circle and are believed to connect the individual to universal energy. Mandalas are symbols that are used for focus and concentration during meditation. They are often used to represent the natural cycles of the universe and can also be used to represent spiritual enlightenment.


Sacred geometry is a powerful system of shapes and symbols that have been used since ancient times to represent spiritual truth and understanding. By understanding the symbolism of shapes used in sacred geometry, we can gain insight into the divine nature of the universe and our own spiritual journey.
A high detail photograph of:

What are the three primary shapes found in sacred geometry?

The three primary shapes found in sacred geometry are the triangle, the square, and the circle. These shapes are associated with the divine, and are seen in many religious and spiritual teachings. They are said to represent the three stages of consciousness (mind, body, spirit). Each shape is said to embody a different energy, and can be used to connect with the divine and explore the hidden meanings and knowledge of the universe.

What is the relevance of sacred geometry shapes?

Sacred geometry has been used throughout the ages in many different forms and contexts. Sacred geometry shapes are thought to express certain spiritual, metaphysical, and mathematical principles in an aesthetically pleasing and meaningful way. They are seen as expressions of the fundamental patterns and forms found in nature, thought to be unifying forces in the universe that reflect the divine. Sacred geometry shapes are used in rituals, art, architecture, and design as a way to communicate deeper meanings, to attempt to understand the inner workings of the universe and to align with cosmic forces.

What is the history of the use of sacred geometry shapes?

The use of sacred geometry shapes has been around for millennia. Sacred geometry is believed to have been used by the ancient Greeks, Egyptians, Babylonians, and other ancient cultures. It was also an important part of medieval European architecture.

Sacred geometry shapes are believed to be spiritual in nature, representing the interconnectedness of all things in the universe and symbolizing deeper, spiritual truths. They are used as symbols of spiritual insight, and are thought to bring balance to one’s life. People often use sacred geometry shapes to form patterns or access a higher state of consciousness.

The use of sacred geometry shapes is also found in many spiritual and religious traditions, such as Hinduism, Buddhism, Kaballah, and alchemy. It is believed that the shapes are portals to the divine and can bring enlightenment. Some believe that it can also be used to manifest abundance, health and prosperity.

The use of sacred geometry shapes has also been found in art, architecture, design, and divination. It is also found in many forms of jewelry and talismans. In recent years, it has been used in many modern applications, such as architectural design, interior design, furniture, and fashion.